McKinnie Named To Eastern Conference All-Star Team

By cquackenbush | February 14, 2017


HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL – The Windy City Bulls, presented by BMO Harris Bank, the NBA Development League Affiliate of the Chicago Bulls, and the NBA Development League, have announced that forward Alfonzo McKinnie has been named an Eastern Conference All-Star replacement. The 2017 NBA D-League All-Star Game, presented by Kumho Tire, tips off on Saturday, Feb.18 at 1:30 p.m. CT from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans.

McKinnie (6’8/215/Green Bay) is averaging 15.1 points and 9.2 rebounds per game in a breakout season with Windy City. The Chicago native has tallied 11 double-doubles on the season after joining the Windy City roster via the team’s local tryout last fall.

Jordan Crawford (Grand Rapid Drive) and Axel Toupane (Raptors 905) join McKinnie as replacements on the Eastern Conference team for current NBA players Ray McCallum (Grand Rapids Drive/Charlotte Hornets), Chris McCullough (Long Island Nets/Brooklyn Nets) and Yogi Ferrell (Long Island Nets/Dallas Mavericks).

On the West team, Reggie Williams (Oklahoma City Blue) will replace Pierre Jackson (Texas Legends), who will miss the game as he continues rehabilitation following a left hamstring injury.  Jackson will still take part in the Three-Point Contest, which begins at 2 p.m. ET on Saturday and culminates at halftime of the NBA D-League All-Star Game.

Last week it was announced that McKinnie would also be competing in the 2017 NBA D-League Slam Dunk, presented by Verizon. Joining McKinnie in the competition is defending champion John Jordan (Raptors 905), Alex Poythress (Fort Wayne), Troy Williams (Iowa), Derek Cooke Jr. (Northern Arizona), and Trahson Burrell (Long Island).

Current NBA players Langston Galloway (New Orleans), Tim Frazier (New Orleans) and Jonathon Simmons (San Antonio) are three of the five judges for the final round of NBA D-League Slam Dunk Contest presented by Verizon, all of whom have D-League experience. The trio will be joined by Tas Melas and J.E. Skeets of NBA TV’s The Starters. The first round of the dunk competition will be judged by NBA players Marquese Chriss (Phoenix), Nikola Jokic (Denver) and Frank Kaminsky (Charlotte) as well as Melas and Skeets.

All four competitors will complete two dunks in the first round, with each judge awarding six to 10 points for each dunk. Dunkers will have 60 seconds to complete each dunk. The two players with the highest composite scores after the first round move on to the second round, where the time limits and scoring system remain the same. The player with the highest composite score for his two dunks in the final round will be crowned the 2017 NBA D-League Slam Dunk champion.

Both two-round competitions tip off during NBA All-Star Practice and culminate during halftime of the 2017 NBA D-League All-Star Game presented by Kumho Tire, which begins at 1:30 p.m. CT. The final round of both the Slam Dunk and the Three-Point Contests will air live on NBA TV during halftime of the NBA D-League All-Star Game. The first round of each event will be streamed live on the NBA D-League’s Facebook page, beginning with the Slam Dunk preliminary at 11:30 a.m. CT and continuing with the Three-Point Contest preliminary at 1:00 p.m. CT.